A Round Trip to Love V4 C1

Côte d’Azur Restaurant & Bar.

A top-notch bar bistro located near Xiamen University.

It receives a high rating from me mainly due to its geographical location – a convenient and decent place for me to further advance my plans to conquer the innocent girl I just hooked up with. Being the latest to take the bait, I afforded her a relatively higher visiting rate so as to lay an early emotional foundation, paving the way for me to hit that home run sooner.

Hence today at the dinner table, I did not forget to be a gentleman and helped Su Xiao Lu pull out her chair while hanging her handbag up at the side.

“Xiao Lu, do you want to have a look to see what you want to order?” I handed her the menu, not wasting the opportunity to touch her hand ‘accidentally’. Almost immediately, her fair face flushed. Under the soft lightings, she looks breathtakingly beautiful.

These days, girls who are genuinely shy are rare creatures possibly on the verge of extinction. I may very well keep this Su Xiao Lu longer than the others, it seems unlikely I will tire of her very soon.

“Steamed carp.” She smiled faintly, avoiding direct eye contact with me, her voice a little strained.

“Xiao Lu, you have such a good figure and smooth complexion, you don’t have to pick such light dishes.” It is my talent to sweet talk a girl, and as expected, this casual compliment made her eyes lit up.

The food came quickly, including a bottle of red wine that I specifically ordered.

In the next hour, Su Xiao Lu happily harassed the small fish with a fork and knife, her long hair covering half of her face slantwise, wearing a permanent tinge of blush. While I drink the red wine, I admire the ‘appetizer’ in front of me, which looks way tastier than the dishes on the table, my brain racing to put a plan in motion to trick her into stripping herself naked willingly for me by tonight.

“Qin Lang, aren’t you going to eat?” She naturally had no idea what was going through my lecherous mind, but noticing my faltering gaze, she got a little concerned.

“I’m eating!” I looked at her, revealed my signature smile and with an ulterior motive, picked up a paper napkin to wipe her cheek: “Don’t move, you’ve got something here …….”

Her face became redder, and her eyes closed, willingly indulging my unruly hand.

“Xiao Lu Sis!” Just as my hand was about to touch the surface of her delicate skin, a muffled call reached us from a distance. Su Xiao Lu turned her head and my hand hung in mid-air in the most unfortunate manner.

Damn, who’s the arsehole, calling out at this inopportune moment! Can’t you recognize it when a guy is trying to seduce a girl? Isn’t it obvious this is some kind of a stab at me?

Furiously, I lifted my head ready to retaliate against this rude fellow, when I was instead met by a pair of antagonistic stares.

This prick, you spoilt my move and you got the cheek to glare at me?

I held back my frustration by masking my emotion with a forced smile, leaning back to take stock of the teenager standing behind Su Xiao Lu, who is currently staring at me unabashedly.

“Yi Chen, why are you here? Are you here to have dinnner too?” Su Xiao Lu seemed to be embarrassed for some reason, her voice had a few tremors to it.

“No, I’m here to work!” It was still that muffled sounding voice, with a childish tone of a teen. His eyes are not on Su Xiao Lu, but rather focusing provocatively at me the whole time.

Fuck, have I stepped on your toes, or are you beguiled by me too? I know I am a sight to behold, but please look carefully at my gender. Keep on staring like this and I’m going to have to charge you a viewing fee. I rolled my eyes at him, fished out a cigarette and lit it, no longer paying attention to him.

After receiving no response from my side, this kid must have gotten bored of performing a one-man show, changing his target to Su Xiao Lu, he said in a softened tone: “Xiao Lu, are you free today? Yang Rui is sick, and he’s been thinking of you a lot, can you check on him?”

So it turns out that this kid is a lobbyist for Su Xiao Lu’s admirer, that explains his hostility towards me. This is getting interesting, I did not say a word and waited patiently for the following scene.

“Yi Chen, what’s the point of this? I know you and Yang Rui are close, but you should understand that when it comes to romantic feelings between a man and a woman, it can’t be forced? What good would it do for him to be so persistent? It is no longer possible between me and him, and you of all people should know that.”

As the saying goes, mastery is achieved out of a hundredfold of practice. Unexpectedly, the sweet-tempered Su Xiao Lu is actually a master at rejecting guys. Her speech was made in one long breath, without any hesitance. I was so impressed I almost applauded her.

“Xiao Lu Sis …… in that case I’ll find the right opportunity to relay what you just said to him. Then ……. I guess I’ll just head back to work …….” This young fellow by the name of Yi Chen wavered for a few more moments, before giving up on his attempt at being a middle-man. He nodded helplessly at Su Xiao Lu and walked past me, letting out an audible sigh. He may not appear to bear any ill will towards Su Xiao Lu, but as for me, the guy whom he labeled as his buddy’s love rival, he was unable to summon any friendliness towards.

“Who is he? Quite an smug guy he is!” Watching him make his way towards the depths of the bar, I could not help but pass this comment. I am the Qin’s family young master, someone actually dared to show me such disregard?

“My junior brother from the same department, his name is Cheng Yi Chen, Yang Rui is his friend, who had always had a crush on me …….” Su Xiao Lu lowered her voice, dropping her eyes down, idly fiddling with the glass in her hand.

“Don’t worry, I understand …… but why is he so grumpy, acting like he wants to pick a fight.” I interrupted her with a light smile – making an tricky situation better for pretty girls is one principle I adhere by.

“Yi Chen ah …….” She softly laughed, “That’s how he is, always standing up for others, a champion for the underdog, a defender of the weak, and very impulsive. He is still a child, Qin Lang, don’t hold it against him.”

“Of course not ……”I agree with her, I am the mature one here; I certainly would not NOT hold it against him.

Who does he think he is? I am out wooing a girl and he thinks he can just come and make a scene?

Not to mention that little commotion made me out to be the bad guy. One booty call from me, Qin Lang, and a dozen girls of all shapes and sizes would come running, did he think I am even on the same level to be compared with his friend? He is not even qualified to look down on me, trust him to be so self-righteous? Obviously he has nothing better to do on a full stomach.

The sound of guitar tuning sounded from the stage of the restaurant and when I looked up at it, it was actually played by that Yi Chen guy.

“I thought he’s here to work part-time washing dishes or something, but he’s actually performing here?” I glanced over with a slight sneer.

“Yi Chen is really good with his guitar, and he sings very well too, Qin Lang, don’t underestimate him too much!” Perceiving my unfriendly tone, Su Xiao Lu smiled with an approving look at Cheng Yi Chen, who is plucking out a broken chord on the strings of his guitar checking for intonation.

“Really? Xiao Lu, since he has your stamp of approval, he must be good!” I turned my body around facing the stage, pretending to be interested, but I have already disdained it a hundred times in my heart. Good? How good can this kid who looks like he had just gone through puberty be? Isn’t it just pretending to be cool swinging a guitar around and belt out a popular tune? If he is indeed any good, there is no way I would not have noticed it before, not as if this is my first or second time here.

As I was just pondering on how best to give that kid a big letdown, he swept a long trailing note on his guitar, and nodded towards the keyboardist sitting on the other side, getting ready to start the performance.

Yeah? Bring it on.

When the melody finally sounded, I was astounded.

Instead of pleasing the general audience with those vulgar pop songs that are playing everywhere in the streets, he began to play the song ‘Birdcage’ by the classic Japanese band Mr. Children.

“How long has he learnt Japanese?” I turned around to ask Su Xiao Lu, a little surprised by his rather moving Japanese vocals – given our family business growth in Japan, I’ve been influenced by Japanese culture since I was a child. Hearing a teen singing one of Mr. Children’s hit song in this small local bar is surprising to say the least. Although his vocal is rather juvenile and lacks that evocative vibe, that unique arrangement amazes me.

“Not that long.” Su Xiao Lu laughed out lightly, ”Don’t you think he’s pretty good at it? In fact, Yi Chen is particularly gifted in music, as long as it is a song that intrigues him, he will be able to capture the essence of it after listening to it over and over again. He can even mimic the pronunciation and singing style. The other day he was humming a new Korean song in the school cafeteria, and it actually attracted the attention of a very pretty Korean girl to approach him, but he didn’t understand a word of Korean that she was speaking, his face turned all red and he ran off apologizing profusely. I can still remember the look on his face, so cute.” Recalling this incident, the grin on Su Xiao Lu’s face became wider.

“That’s pretty funny!” I couldn’t help but laugh myself, “He must have been really embarrassed!”

“A lot of girls in the school are smitten with him because of his talent, and knowing that I’m his senior sister, they would pass me love letters folded into paper cranes and ask me to pass them on to him.” Noticing that she has aroused my interest, Su Xiao Lu suppressed her laughter as she continued talking.

“And then what? This kid must be on cloud nine? He must be drawing lots every day to decide which girlfriend to have dinner with?” I regretted saying those words as soon as it left my mouth – did I accidentally expose my own despicable deed? Stealing a glance at Su Xiao Lu, she did not appear to reveal any negative reactions, and I secretly let out a sigh of relief.

“He didn’t. I visited him at his place and found all the letters untouched and unopened, all stuffed neatly in a drawer. I asked him why did he not give the girls a reply, that cheeky guy actually said to me with a face full of grievances: “Xiao Lu, tell them not to fold such complicated origami in future, I can’t even unfold them after studying them for hours ……”

“Haha, this kid has a sense of humor!” I laughed out loud and twisted my head to look back at the stage. I could not tell that this kid who was just acting all cool with a stinky face, would have an adorable side to him. According to Su Xiao Lu’s narrative, he is just an immature youth, me being the gentleman that I am, should not continue to deprecate him.

The stage lights dimmed, the keyboardist stood up and walked to the side of the stage to get a drink of water, and it looks like after performing three or four songs, it is time for a break.

“Yi Chen, it’s wonderful!” Su Xiao Lu gestured for Yi Chen to come over and rest while praising him.

“Thank you, Xiao Lu Sis! The house guitarist here is on medical leave today, and I am just standing in to help a friend out on last minute notice, to be honest, it was pretty nerve-wracking earlier.” Despite nodding politely at Xiao Lu while walking towards us, his eyes only glanced at me fleetingly, neither did he take a seat with us, it seems like he is still uncomfortable with me in close proximity.

No wonder, he is only here as a substitute. Otherwise I would not possibly have missed such a good vocal.

It is not hard to detect his continued hostility towards me, I shrugged my shoulders at Su Xiao Lu somewhat helplessly. Since he had delighted my ears with his performance earlier, I extended a glass of wine to him as a peace offering along with a sincere compliment: “I enjoyed your singing, it was really good!”

He was stunned, as if he was caught off guard by my sudden gesture of kindness.

“Have a drink, it will moisten your throat!” I smiled and handed the glass to him again, demonstrating my generosity at not bearing grudges to a junior, and of course, knowing that Su Xiao Lu is evaluating me. I’m a grown man of twenty-three years old, obviously not on the same level of maturity with this kid of not even twenty.

Time and again, my charming smile had proven itself to be lady-killers and men-killers.

He finally conceded after about three seconds of hesitation: “Thank you, but I don’t drink!”

I think I must be getting a little dizzy from the effects of the alcohol – the moment he smiled it was as if the moonlight spilling through the glass roof illuminates across his face, the radiance so captivating.

“Moreover, do you not know that drinking is bad for the voice?” He grinned as he lowered his body, leaning toward me, his voice compressed low. The smile lingering on his face would make any observer think that he is being friendly, but I am the only one who could hear his sneering words: “Moisten the throat? Do you know what you’re talking about? I’ve never seen anyone with so little common sense!”

Common sense? What I am offering him is high grade fine wine, okay? A sip or two is not going to hurt anything? Isn’t it obvious as hell that he is trying to antagonize me? I gritted my teeth and swallowed my annoyance, I was about to blurt a retort when he continued on with the next sentence.

“Also, put away your fake compliments! Don’t act like you’re a connoisseur of music in front of Xiao Lu, do you even understand what I just sang?” While he was talking, he turned his head towards Su Xiao Lu with a pure smile, the image of innocence.

“I’m so sorry, I really didn’t understand what you were singing! Those songs I like are all about you love me, I love you crowd pleasers.” My face exuding a calm quite in contrary to the animosity rising in me, my knuckles turning white from clenching my two fists together.

Fucking kid! Where were you when I was listening to MR. Children. I think you were still poking around CD shops trying to catch a bargain, and you think your taste in music is more sophisticated than mine? The amount of original CD albums in my house can crush you to death under their weight. I had wanted to drop the matter for Su Xiao Lu’s sake, yet you don’t know what’s good for you! Alright then, you leave me no choice but to teach you a good lesson you will remember for life!

“Xiao Lu Sis, I have to get back on stage, I’ll go over now!” He nodded at me, not forgetting to pick the corner of his mouth specially for me, and hopped back on stage.

“Qin Lang, is something wrong, you are looking pale?” Su Xiaolu asked curiously.

“Am I? Probably had too much wine. It’s okay, let’s listen to the performance!” I will endure. Damn it, I look pale? I’m lucky this kid hasn’t given me internal bleeding.

Cheng Yi Chen jumped back on stage with light footings, whispered the next repertoire to the keyboardist, and immediately got ready to begin the next part of his performance.

“Wait, wait a minute!” I shouted out, interrupting the tune that was about to be played.

“Is something the matter?” His voice came through the microphone with an impatience and slight annoyance, making it sound almost cartoonish.

“I’d like to request and dedicate a song to this lovely lady here with me tonight, I wonder if I can trouble you to play it for us?” I deliberately slowed down the pace of my speech, to enjoy the sight of his face turning from a shade of white to green.

“Qin Lang!” Su Xiao Lu whimpered in surprise and embarrassment. I did not even turn my head to acknowledge her, looking straight at Cheng Yi Chen on the stage. Aren’t you the big shot always standing up for your friends, you little son of a bitch? Well now I am going to ask you for a ‘little favor’!

“I ……” He is still at a tender age after all, under my sudden provocation, his face rose a bright red, suddenly inarticulate and paused a long time before shouting out: “I’m not singing!”

“No way, I remember the guitarist here used to be more than willing to accommodate a guest’s request on the spot!” Taking advantage of the fact that I am a regular here, I deliberately cast my gaze at the boss sitting by the side: “Why, is that not possible today?”

“This …… “ The boss switched his gaze from me to Cheng Yi Chen on the stage, in a dilemma. It is plain to see that I am creating trouble, but being a regular big spender and generous tipper here, the owner of the bar would never risk offending me over defending a guitarist on a relief job.

“There’s extra charges for song requests!” Under pressure from the half coercing and half pleading gaze from the boss, he retaliated with this crude statement in a sharp tone. I shook my head internally. This Cheng Yi Chen is really too unripe, he actually thought he can shake me off by mentioning about money. What’s that little bit of money to me? I drew out $300 and slapped the cold hard cash on the table, looking at him with a smirk: “Is this enough?”

“Qin Lang, Yi Chen is still a child, stop teasing him!” Su Xiao Lu had already sniffed out the strong smell of gunpowder and is openly tugging on my sleeve.

“Okay, which song do you want to hear? I’ll sing it!” I was about to apologize to Su Xiao Lu, and call it a day, when Cheng Yi Chen’s voice regained its composure, replying me with renewed vigor.

“Let me see ……” I put on a great pretense of seriously considering what song I wanted to hear: “I’m just a brute and don’t know much about the latest songs, how about just singing some traditional folk tune, like ‘Tea-picking opera’ or something like that ……”

As soon as the words fell, the whole bar was roaring with laughter. Who would have thought that after making such a commotion, I would be requesting for a grandma’s love song? Everyone’s eyes fixated on Cheng Yi Chen for his reaction, his face turning pale one min, and blushing furiously the next. The audience’s interest are now roused, eager to see how a tender youth would deal with this ancient song that even a forty year old aunty would find too old-fashioned.

“Why? Do you not remember the lyrics?” Seeing his dumbstruck look, I was in quite a mood to elevate the hilarity of the situation: “I can recite it slowly for you ……”

Trust me to have such good memory, that I was able to suppress my laughter and recite those age old lyrics. With every word, one could see how Cheng Yi Chen’s face turn another shade paler, and the laughter that were suppressed underneath the audience slowly boiled over. After I finished reciting the whole song, a burst of laughter exploded across the floor. After that, everyone went silent again, waiting patiently for Cheng Yi Chen. He remained relatively still on stage, his fingers mechanically sweeping the strings of his guitar one by one, his eyes slightly closed, eyelashes fluttering softly, mumbling quietly as if something was brewing in his mind.

Poor kid, he’s not scared out of his wits, is he? I shook my head darkly. Who asked you to be so obnoxious, otherwise I would have held myself back earlier, and saved you from losing face under the limelight!

I searched my own conscience and wondered if I have gone overboard with this child. Squinting my eyes at Su Xiao Lu who is clenching her teeth and bitting her lips, I am afraid she has never encountered a scene such as this before.

“If you really can’t do it then I won’t insist on it!” Seeing Cheng Yi Chen being in a trance-like manner for a while now, I was ready to call for a truce. I picked up my jacket and stood up, not forgetting to add, “Also, I suddenly remembered that the song you just sang was Mr. Children’s Birdcage, isn’t that right? I’ve collected all their albums and singles, you can come over and listen to them if you want, I won’t mind!”

All right, I’ve said my piece, and I feel good about it now!

In a smooth mood, I held my hand up to Su Xiao Lu, and glanced towards the stage, ready to leave in style.

“Wait a minute!” Cheng Yi Chen suddenly called out loudly, his eyes had opened wide betraying no signs of being intimidated, his tone full of pride: “Don’t be in a hurry to go, did I say I’m not singing?”

Huh? A little taken aback.

I let go of Su Xiao Lu’s hand and approached the stage with great interest, making an appearance of getting ready to listen – God knows what this kid is raving about? Don’t tell me you are going to break your vocal chords yodelling those high octave mountain folk songs just to get back at me. The thought of that was enough to make my hairs stand, and I swore if he were to start that melody you hear grandmas humming all day from the next door when she is in a good mood, I will immediately escape from here.

A few soft rhythms rang out and he actually started singing. The lyrics are the same, but the tune is completely improvised. In just a few short minutes, he actually reworked the earthy mountain song into the style of the R&B genre.

That’s brilliant!

I never thought an old folk tune could be sung this way after being modified! The lyrics are straightforward and beautiful, the melody is soft and flowing, and the voice of Yi Chen is clean and touching. Su Xiao Lu gently hugged me from behind, her face on my back, soft as water. It seems all who were present are not just impressed speechless, but are deeply moved as well.

I stood there mesmerized by the sight of Cheng Yi Chen’s playing, wearing his heart on his sleeves right there on the stage, and felt something different stirring in my heart.

“Well, are you satisfied?” After the applause, he asked me with his chin raised.

“That’s not bad!” I nodded quite sincerely, “If you continue to perform in this restaurant, I’ll be sure to drop by often!”

“Wait a minute!” He hurriedly put down his guitar and walked over to me.

“Why?” I asked with some curiosity. Thin beads of sweat seeped from his forehead and his lips were red with post-performance exhaustion. The obvious difference in the sizes of each of his eyes revealed an undisguised condescension. It seems that despite succeeding in reversing the awkward situation he was put under earlier, the fact that he was forced to play against his will is still making him unhappy.

“My tip!” He declared in a raised voice.

“Oh! I almost forgot!” Amused, I picked up the money. This proud boy, still trying to get back at me by making my heart ache? Did he really think paying $300 to hear a song from him is too high a price? On the contrary, I thought it was worth every cent.

“With this money, you can get an original copy of ‘Six Ugly’ by Direngrey. It had just arrived, I’ll recommend you to get one, it’s great!” I watched him staring at me as I smiled and gently shoved the money into his hand. His mouth dropped open as if he wanted to say something, I waved my hands dismissively, pulled Su Xiao Lu along, and walked away quickly.

2 thoughts on “A Round Trip to Love V4 C1”

Leave a comment